Las Vegas Film Critics Society

About the Las Vegas Film Critics Society:

Now in its eleventh year, the Las Vegas Film Critics Society and its annual awards program has grown in stature and prestige. With a population now reaching two million and among the highest movie theater locations per capita, the fastest growing city in America, Las Vegas, Nevada has begun to take its place among major film cities of the country.

The Las Vegas Film Critics Society is a non-profit, progressive organization dedicated to the advancement and preservation of film and is composed of selected print, television and internet film critics in the Las Vegas area. The LVFCS presents its “Sierra” awards each year for the best in film, including The William Holden Lifetime Achievement Award, which is named for the brilliant Academy Award winning actor.

Teaming up with The Nevada Film Office, the LVFCS is proud to present the annual “Silver Nitrate Award” which is given to an individual or organization for outstanding contribution to film within the great state of Nevada.

The LVFCS also recognizes a lifelong contribution to film with its yearly “Cinema Heritage Award” to citizens of Nevada. Past recipients have included Senator Richard Bryan of Nevada.

And The Winners:

Best Picture
“No Country for Old Men”

Best Actor
Daniel Day-Lewis, “There Will Be Blood”

Best Actress
Ellen Page, “Juno”

Best Supporting Actor
Javier Bardem, “No Country for Old Men”

Best Supporting Actress
Cate Blanchett, “I’m Not There”

Best Director
Joel & Ethan Coen, “No Country for Old Men

Best Screenplay (Original or Adapted)
Diablo Cody, “Juno”

Best Cinematography
Robert Elswit, “There Will Be Blood”

Best Film Editing
Christopher Rouse, “The Bourne Ultimatum”

Best Costume Design
Colleen Atwood, “Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street”

Best Art Direction
“Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix”

Best Visual Effects


Best Score
Jonny Greenwood, “There Will Be Blood”

Best Song
“Walk Hard” by Marshall Crenshaw, John C. Reilly, Judd Apatow and Jake Kasdan
Performed by John C. Reilly

Best Animated Film

Best Family Film

Best Documentary

Best Foreign Film
“The Diving Bell and the Butterfly”

Youth in Film Award (Male)
Ed Sanders, “Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street

Youth in Film Award (Female)
Saoirse Ronan, “Atonement”

Best DVD (Packaging, Design and Content)

Blade Runner Ultimate Edition (Warner Home Entertainment)

William Holden Lifetime Achievement Award
James Hong

LVFCS Top Ten Films for 2007

No Country for Old Men
Sweeney Todd
3:10 to Yuma
The Assassination of Jesse James by the Coward Robert Ford
Into the Wild
Eastern Promises
The Lookout