BET Awards 2010 Nominations

Drake, Jay-Z and Nicki Minaj Lead Pack of BET Awards Nominees
By Carl Chery, staff

Drake, Jay-Z and Nicki Minaj lead the pack of nominees for the 10th annual BET Awards, while the network revealed that Queen Latifah will host the momentous event.

The nominations were announced at the 230 Fifth Rooftop Garden Bar and Restaurant in New York City earlier today (May 18). Drake is nominated for Best Male Hip-Hop Artist and twice for Best Collaboration for “Successful” with Trey Songz and “Forever” featuring Eminem, Lil Wayne and Kanye West. He was also nominated three times as part of Young Money.

Meanwhile, Hov is nominated in five categories, including Best Male Hip-Hop Artist, Viewers’ Choice, Video of the Year and twice in the Best Collaboration category for “Empire State of Mind” featuring Alicia Keys and “Run this Town” featuring Kanye West and Rihanna. Nicki Minaj picked up nods for Best New Artist and Best Female Hip-Hop Artist in addition to three nominations with Young Money.

Beyoncé, Alicia Keys, Melanie Fiona and Trey Songz received four nods, Rihanna, B.o.B, Young Money and Fabolous, three apiece while Maxwell, Sade, Kanye West and Monica received two. Usher, Chris Brown, Raheem DeVaughn, Black Eyed Peas, Dirty Money, New Boyz, Trina, The Clipse and Mary J. Blige were also nominated.

High off the success of “Just Wright,” which took $8.5 million in its opening weekend at the box office, Latifah took to the podium to express her excitement about hosting what she called, “the best show on television.” While she wouldn’t share what she has up her sleeve, she vowed to uphold the bar set by previous hosts like Mo’Nique, Will Smith and Jada Pinkett Smith.

Diddy was also on hand with Dawn Richard and Kalenna of Dirty Money to introduce two new categories: Best Movie and the Young Star Award. Per Puff, the group’s “Last Train to Paris” LP was pushed back to coincide with the BET Awards. “The BET Awards are so big that I changed the date of my album to come out midnight after the BET Awards,” Diddy revealed. Puff will also be hosting the official BET Awards after party sponsored by Coca-Cola. The event will double as a countdown to Dirty Money’s album release.

See below for a full list of nominees.

Best Female R&B Artist
Mary J. Blige
Melanie Fiona
Alicia Keys

Best Male R&B Artist
Chris Brown
Raheem DeVaughn
Trey Songz

Best Gospel
The Anointed Pace Sisters
Kirk Franklin Presents Artists United For Haiti
Tamela Mann
Marvin Sapp
Vickie Winans

Best Female Hip Hop Artist
Ester Dean
Lil Kim
Nicki Minaj

Best Male Hip Hop Artist

Best Group
Black Eyed Peas
Diddy-Dirty Money
New Boyz
Young Money

Best New Artist
Justin Bieber
Melanie Fiona
Nicki Minaj
Young Money

Best Collaboration
Beyoncé f/ Lady Gaga – Video Phone
B.o.B. f/ Bruno Mars – Nothin’ On You
Drake & Trey Songz – Successful
Drake f/ Lil Wayne, Kanye West & Eminem – Forever
Jay-Z & Alicia Keys – Empire State of Mind
Trey Songz f/ Fabolous – Say Aah

Video of the Year
Beyoncé f/ Lady Gaga – Video Phone
B.o.B. f/ Bruno Mars – Nothin’ On You
Melanie Fiona – It Kills Me
Jay-Z & Alicia Keys – Empire State of Mind
Jay-Z, Rihanna & Kanye West – Run This Town

Video Director of the Year
Benny Boom
Gil Green
Anthony Mandler
Chris Robinson
Hype Williams

Best Actress
Taraji P. Henson
Regina King
Zoe Saldana
Gabourey Sidibe

Best Actor
Quinton Aaron
Don Cheadle
Idris Elba
Jamie Foxx
Denzel Washington

YoungStars Award
Selena Gomez
Lil JJ
Keke Palmer
Willow Smith
Tyler James Williams

Best Movie
Law Abiding Citizen
Michael Jackson’s This Is It
Precious: Based on the Novel ‘Push’ by Sapphire
The Blindside

Subway Sportswoman of the Year
Tamika Catchings
Vanessa James
Candace Parker
Serena Williams
Venus Williams

Subway Sportsman of the Year
Carmelo Anthony
Usain Bolt
Kobe Bryant
LeBron James
Tiger Woods

Viewers Choice Nominees
Beyoncé – Sweet Dreams
Jay-Z & Alicia Keys – Empire State of Mind
Monica – Everything To Me
Rihanna f/ Young Jeezy – Hard
Trey Songz f/ Fabolous – Say Aah
Young Money (Lil Wayne, Gudda Gudda, Nicki Minaj, Jae Millz, Drake, Tyga) f/ Lloyd – Bedrock

Centric Award
Melanie Fiona
Chrisette Michele

Best International Act
Kojo Antwi (Ghana)
Chipmunk (UK)
Dizzee Rascal (UK)
Estelle (UK)
Hip Hop Pantsula (HHP) (South Africa)
K’NAAN (Somalia)
M.I. (Nigeria)
P-Square (Nigeria)
Corinne Bailey Rae (UK)
Sade (UK)

Enhanced by Zemanta